THE HOAX BACK ON FACEBOOK PRIVACY IN A NEW LOOK!
Volpedo, 2013, November 27

One of the most common "Hoax"on the privacy settings of Facebook, is invading again Boards  of relatives and friends, in a new guise.

The version in June

"To all my contacts, I ask you a favor: with the Facebook changes now read information even on people who do not have between your contacts. Just because one puts a touch of our puts a comment or "like"friends of friends see it. I do not want people who are not one of my contacts can read and see all my comments and my post. But I can not change alone, because facebook is configured in this way. Please place your cursor over my name (without clicking), a window will appear. Place the mouse on "Friends" (without clicking), then click on "settings"and a list will appear. Click on "Comments and likes"and remove the tick, so what I write and place remains among my friends and my family and it becomes public domain. Thank you very much! Paste this message to your wall so your contacts do the same, if you are interested in your privacy."

The message of the last days

"I call on all our friends a favor (cancellation penalty and I'm serious). Please place your cursor over my name (without clicking), a window will appear. Now move your mouse over "Friends" (without clicking), then "Settings": Click and you will see a the list. Uncheck "Games" and "Photo" and "Status update". Now, copy and paste this in your bulletin board (Warning: Copy and paste, "Do not Share"). When I see him posted on your Wall, I'll do the same. Thank you! In this way, people who do not know it can not access the pictures of family and friends".


Yet another viral hoax circulating on the social control without

It is a colossal hoax: many of the required actions do not make sense and a few sentences are totally baseless, almost ridiculous. Let's analyze the text and understand the why this is indeed a hoax.

I ask all of your friends a favor (cancellation penalty and I'm serious).

You start by asking you a favor, then move on to the threat of removal from their group of friends. Assuming that to be true, I have a doubt. Assuming, that I have 900 friends, the post's author could explain me how I can check that each of these has done what is required? Fast and quick action...the watchword is "do not waste time useless".

Please place your cursor over my name (without clicking), a window will appear. Place the mouse on "Friends" (without clicking), then click on "settings"and a list will appear. Click on "Comments and likes"and remove the tick, so what I write and place remains among my friends and my family and it becomes public domain.

Fantastic! I always thought that this dialog allow you to set updates of the friend to be displayed on the top; in the lower part, the sections to hide the friend in question. The popular option that allows you to hide your update state and other sections to some people, to prevent them from commenting, without raising friendship.

Attention: Copy and paste, "Do not Share"

I don't understand! Why "copy and paste" is okay, while sharing no? But if they are practically the same thing, would the author of the message say me, what computing motivation see sharing as an action to do not... and I emphasize the "do not"! Remember too, that share is one of the strengths of Facebook.

When I see him posted on your Wall, I'll do the same.

I don't understand again! What? Will copy and will paste the message? In practice, it threatens your friends to urge them to take this action, in your opinion most important, then don't you get it same? Logically, you should do it first, if indeed it was a sensible thing and useful...

In this way, people who do not know it can not access the pictures of family and friends.

This point depends on the privacy setting you have set: generally, pictures can only be seen by your friends, if you yourself have not changed basic settings. It should be noted that each of us is free to set the settings the privacy of your account, as it sees fit: Facebook is not to determine what the others will see on our profile. Just click on "Privacy Settings" to decide who can see our post, who can make it in writing on our wall, who can contact/find us and many other settings.

Regardless of the settings selected, let us always remember that sharing information on Facebook, become available to a social network. These two words should "warn" on the material to be shared. Share with friends only, is not enough: someone might disclose our things.

I enjoy spending several hours a day on Facebook and stay of this idea: "The moment you sign up to Facebook, our privacy is over. Whatever, our privacy settings, Facebook is a social with a number of users exceeds the billion. If you really do not want something that is both affordable and our shared exists a one rule: do not share it!"

The ease with which the news has caught on in Facebook, brings to light a major problem: too often people share or disseminate information, without ensuring the truthfulness of news. This can only lead to a serious problem: confusion, discomfort and dmisinformation on an issue that has long been the subject of criticism.
Print this article
Print this article (only text)
Tell a friend